Fellow Bloggers: Help me pick an African country to work in!

Image

Recent events and good luck have conspired to give me the opportunity of living and working in an African country for 6 months, potentially as soon as 9 months time.

I need your opinions, thoughts and pearls of wisdom on which country to choose.

A bit of background:

I’m a paediatrician and there is a partnership scheme currently in place between the UK and five African countries whereby we exchange healthcare ideas and policies to benefit each other.

This involves a doctor going on a placement for 6-12 months to live and work in one of the countries to observe and advise local doctors/nurses on ways to improve child/newborn healthcare.

The five countries offering placements are:

1) Nigeria

2) Ghana

3) Sierra Leone

4) Kenya

5) Uganda

We all have preconceived ideas about certain countries. Rather than pandering to my poorly researched whims about ‘dangerous’ countries, I would like to utilise the collective wisdom of this very well-travelled community.

I want to hear from you if you have lived in one of these countries, can recommend one, or would absolutely avoid one like the plague (or lassa fever).

Accommodation is provided as is a monthly living allowance.

I’m all ears.

Image

